Interested in
Becoming a member?


Please locate your nearest centre and contact their Secretary for information


View NZSDTA Centres



NZSDTA Address
37 Broad Street
Southbridge 7602


Welcome To The Official NZSDTA Website


Interim Secretary:

Debbie Pauling, 37 Broad Street, Southbridge 7602, Canterbury Phone 027 344 5182   Email:

Promotions Officer:

Jan Tairua, Phone 03 418 1557 or 0274 961 243  Email:


Important Notices

Marlborugh Nelson Centre -  Awatere Dog Trial – Postponement  

Due to the extremely dry and windy conditions Awatere dog trial has been cancelled  for 22nd & 23rd  February 2019.

The club are hoping to reschedule sometime in April so watch for updates.  


Southland Centre - Greendale SDTC - Date Change

Now 16th & 17th April 2019






Trial Dates & Official Judges List 2019 Corrections/Alterations

Poverty Bay Centre Champs @ Tologa Bay Date Correction 12th, 13th April with run offs Sunday 14th April 2019

King Country Centre: Graeme Brier - Councillor new email:

Waikato Centre: Maurice Yearbury - Councillor new email:

Taranaki Centre:  Whangamomona DTC Secretary Charmaine Murphy new email:

Canterbury Centre: Tai Tapu CDC - New Secretary -  Tim Schmack, 336 Harmans Road, R D 2 Leeston 7682 

                                  Email:  Phone: 027 2208 414

North Otago Centre:  Waihemo CC - Secreatary (Kirstin Enrlbrecht) Email address correction:

Retired Judges:  Peter Boys new address: Strathallan Retirement Village, Appartment 1, 32 Konini Street, Timaru


Trial Dates & Official Judges List 2019

The trial dates book for 2019 is in the process of being mailed to everyone and  should all be delivered by 20th December 2018 at the latest. If you haven't received your copy/copies by then, please email:  giving your name and address and I will ensure you receive a copy.  This year the amount of copies sent out has been reduced, however, if you do require more  copies there is some spare so please email to request additional copies.


As voted upon at the 2018 AGM we have had to lift the annual sub to $35.00 to try and keep up with the ever rising cost of postage. This becomes effective with the September 2018 issue.




BNZ Hastings - 02 0644 0020744 00

Can you please just put in Particulars: your name and in Reference: Newsleta Sub

Would you mind just flicking me a quick e-mail @   just to say you have put the payment through, and how much you put through, so I can tick you off this end and you don’t keep getting a reminder? Can you also cc Debbie into this e-mail so she is able to match it with the bank statements for N.Z.S.D.T.A.


2019 Tux  North Island & New Zealand Championship Trials - Accommodation List

The following businesses have indicated they are willing to accommodate triallists for the championships:

Kerikeri Holiday Park and Motel  (0800 272 642 or 09 407 9326)

Woodlands (09 407 3947)

Kerikeri Park Lodge (09 407 7464)

Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel (0800 426 868 or 09 407 7801)

Kauri Park Motel (0800 407 762 or 09 407 7629)

Kerigold Motel (09 407 3200)

Central Cottages (09 407 8484)

Bay of Islands Holiday Park (09 402 7646)

Sunseekers Cottages (09 402 7607)

Falls and Waterfront campground (09 402 7816)

Cooks Lookout (09 402 7409)

Ashgrove Boutique Motel (09 402 7934)

Riverside Lodge (0800 900 888)

Colonial House Motel (09 407 9106)

Wharepuke Subtropical Accommodation (09 407 8933)

Stay Kerikeri (0800 224 536)

Gumtree Stables (09 601 2145)

Mid North Motor Inn (09) 405 3160

The Back Paddock (09 407 9300)


Important Information




Congratulations to Pat Coogan (King Country Centre) the new New Zealand President.

Also congratulations to Kerry Pauling (Canterbury Centre) the new New Zealand Vice President.


Australia/New Zealand Test 2018:

In Sydney on Saturday 12th October 2018 the New Zealand and Australia team had their runs in the first test. Results from the New Zealand Team:  Andy Clark & Girl 92.75; Mark Copland & Zoe 84.5; Graeme Brier & Sumo 87.75; Guy Peacock & Chief 77.25  Total: 342.25

Australian team: Grant Cooke 71.5; Geoff Gibson 66.25; Bernard McGlashan 85.25; Mick Hudson 82.25   Total: 305.25

New Zealand in lead by 37

Results day 2 (Sunday 14th October) for the Wayleggo Cup:

Results are New Zealand team:  Andy Clark & Girl 80.5; Mark Copland & Zoe 70.5; Graeme Brier & Sumo 81.25; Guy Peacock & Chief 78   Total:  310.25   

Australian team:  Grant Cooke 77.25; Geoff Gibson 75.75; Bernard McGlashan 39; Mick Hudson 86     Total:  278

New Zealand Total 652.5      Australia Total 583.25

Winner of the Wayleggo Cup for 2018 is New Zealand by 69.25 points.

Congratulations to the members of the winning team.


Rule books can be purchased for $10 each (includes postage). Please e-mail if you wish to have a rule book.  Everyone should have a rule book and read it!


Entry forms for events are on our "Members Area" - Notices page.

On the "Notices" page there are the programmes and entry forms for some of the upcoming club trial events, Tux Yarding Challenge and Handy Dog events that you can refer to.

As soon as dog trial results are received they will be loaded onto the website.  Results can be viewed through the website under "Results Page".


2018 Trial Dates & Official Judges List


NZSDTA Guide for Judging April 2018

Training Sheep Dogs & Pups


Tux Yarding Challenge Course Map

Tux Yarding Challenge Rules


Tux Handy Dog Event Course Map

Tux Handy Dog Event Rules


Trans Tasman Course & Rules






  Bookmark this page in your web - Home